Keeping My Husband Healthy

Keeping My Husband Healthy

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, sunglasses, closeup and outdoor

He messaged me yesterday from work on Monday:

“I feel weird.”

His stomach hurt, he was nauseous and weak. He couldn’t quite explain how it felt. But I knew that feeling. It happens when I don’t get enough calories.

I didn’t make him go vegan, did not demand he give up meat because of my new lifestyle choices (it’s the same with Goo, but she was born a vegetarian. Seriously, I can’t even get that kid to eat chicken nuggets shaped like dinosaurs). However, Chris made the mistake of watching Earthlings, and has gradually decreased his meat intake ever since. In fact, according to him, he hasn’t had any meat since Friday of last week. So he’s been eating vegetarian for four days!

But while Goo will promptly grab a snack from the pantry or ask for a second sandwich at lunch, my husband is the kind of person who will forget to take care of himself. So I know he hasn’t been eating enough to make up for that lack of calories, and according to MyFitnessPal he needs to be eating over 3300 calories per day!

As soon as he came home I handed him a banana and a B12 supplement. Then I made two huge stacks of Vegan pancakes, complete with walnuts, blueberries, banana slices, and maple syrup. Chris and Goo stuffed their faces, drank soy chocolate milk, giggled about the silly dreams they had last night, and when the plates were clean my husband felt much better.

I’m all for him going vegetarian, vegan, or even continuing to eat meat, but I want him to be healthy about it. And with the poor guy working ten hours a day and returning to college in a few weeks, it’s sort of my responsibility as the stay-at-home mom to make sure he has a full stomach at the end of the day.

So, if I’m going to be making all-vegan for dinner, I’m going to have to make it calorie-packed, and I’m going to have to make enough for an army. I thought it would be hard for me to reach 1600 calories. But getting him 3300????

Needless to say, I have a stack of pancakes in the freezer!

Let's Chat!

